Emoji-a-thon TBR

I am taking part in my very first read-a-thon of the year, emoji-a-thon!

Emoji-a-thon is a month long readathon taking place during the entire month of February, and the rules are you only have to read 4 books! Sometimes readathons can be stressful for me, especially if they take place during a busy week. I am really excited to be a part of this leisurely readthon and knock out some books I’ve been looking forward to picking up.

I will list the emoji-a-thon hosts, and twitter down below so you can subscribe and check them out!

Dylanthereader5 – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxpHOP-SCTA0bQ7GZ3fLI0Q

NayaReadsandSmiles – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC52OEyEFO3p-5Qkahcv0REg

Mickey Between the Pages – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFcvOBbyQX05sMxopSFY08w/videos

Twitter – @emojiathon

LIST OF CHALLENGES

Each challenge is represented by a different emoji. You only need to pick four categories to participate.

guys holding hand: read a book about a marginalized group
gift emoji: read a book that was gifted to you
heart emoji: read a romance or contemporary
emoji with heart eyes:read a book you bought because of its cover
embarrassed emoji: read a book that makes you happy thinking about it
shocked face: read a horror or thriller
robot emoji: read a futuristic or sci-fi book
book stack emoji: freebie – any book you want
baby emoji: read a 2016/2017 release
cry emoji: read a cry worthy book
lots of teeth emoji: read an anticipated book
clock emoji: read a book in under 24 hours
eyeball emoji: read a book you’ve been seeing everywhere
dancer emoji: buddy read a book

(I snagged this challenge list from one of my very favorite booktubers, Pages and Pens. Go show her some love!)

MY TBR!

Embarrassed emoji – For this challenge I’m picking Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I’m so excited to get to this book because Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles was my favorite series of 2016.

heartless

Baby emoji – For this challenge I am choosing Rick Riordan’s newest novel in the Magnus Chase series, The Hammer of Thor. I am a huge Riordan fan (um hello, Percy Jackson is my life) and the Magnus Chase series thus far is giving me my Percy Jackson fix.

The_Hammer_of_Thor.jpg

Eyeball emoji – One book I have been seeing EVERYWHERE (but especially on Kaylas booktube Booksandlala) is The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m not exactly sure what to expect from this book because I prefer to go into books blind but the hype is real you guys. I have high hopes for this one!

Cover_ravenboys_300.png

Emoji with Heart eyes – A book I bought because of the cover is definitely Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. I love the overall teal blue color on the book and the womans cartoon-ish face on the cover reminds me of Breakfast at Tiffanys. This book sounds like a family drama with a little mystery, which normally isn’t my cup of tea, but I’m going to give it a go!

bernadette

Robot emoji– As I was looking through my bookshelves for something futuristic, The Program by Suzanne Young immediately caught my eye. I’ve been wanting to read this for years now and the synopsis makes it seem right up my alley.

THE PROGRAM 0719_LO.jpg

If you are interested in any of the books on my TBR, I will list their goodreads pages below!

Heartless –  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18584855-heartless?ac=1&from_search=true

Hammer of Thor – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27904311-the-hammer-of-thor?ac=1&from_search=true

The Raven Boys – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17675462-the-raven-boys?ac=1&from_search=true

Where’d you go, Bernadette – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13526165-where-d-you-go-bernadette?ac=1&from_search=true

The Program – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11366397-the-program?ac=1&from_search=true

Are any of you participating in emoji-a-thon this month? I’d love to hear what’s on your TBR, comment down below! 

Leave a Reply

