The Raven Boys Review!

I have been hearing about The Raven Cycle for a long time now but haven’t wanted to give it a shot for two reasons. First, the cover of this book is not my cup of tea. If there wasn’t a million good reviews on this series I would have never tried out this book. I know, I know, “don’t judge a book by its cover”. But lets be real, the cover really is awful. Reason number two, I read (some) of Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series and was extremely unimpressed. With that being said, I am SO glad I pushed myself to read The Raven Boys. It blew my expectations out of the water and did NOT disappoint.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

The first hundred pages of this book were slow and confusing for me. There were a lot of character introductions, strange supernatural occurrences, and little explanation. At first our main character Blue didn’t sit well with me, she seemed like every other whacky wall flower YA girl I’ve ever read about but I came to love her. Gansey, the rich Aglionby boy, and his friends Adam, Ronan, and Noah were equally irritating in the beginning. (Hello, I could smell that ridiculous love triangle within the first couple chapters ugh). As the story went on though I came to love all the characters. Stiefvater brilliantly gave her characters life, even small side characters, and the story line came together perfectly. (Noah was my everything). The setting was eerie, dark, spooky, but lovely. By the last page I was completely enveloped in this world and these characters.  Most of the plot was predictable but there were certainly enough plot twists to have me on the edge of my seat (OR SCREAMING). If you’re looking for a quick supernatural YA book that is character driven and ultimately remarkable, this is the book for you. I cannot wait to continue on with the series and find out where the story takes us. Bring on the strange, creepy, and otherworldly because I’m in this for the long haul. Also, give me Noah or give me death.

http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/

Leave a Reply

