The Bone Witch Review!

the bone witch

THANK YOU TO SOURCEBOOKS FIRE AND NETGALLEY FOR SENDING ME A COPY OF THIS FOR REVIEW, HOWEVER ALL OPINIONS ARE ENTIRELY MY OWN.

GENRE: Teens & YA, Sci Fi & Fantasy

Goodreads synopsis: 

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

MY THOUGHTS:

I had a strong feeling going into this book that I was going to fall completely in love with it, I was not wrong. Typically my favorite books to read are YA Fantasy so The Bone Witch immediately grabbed my attention (not to mention the beautiful cover). My favorite aspects of this book was the hierarchies, the politics, and the customs of the world that Chupeco built. A great deal of this novel focused on fashion and the steps on becoming a full fledged asha. The fashion theme was very strong and greatly reminded me of Memoirs of a Geisha in that sense. Although I could appreciate the strong fashion theme, it did become a bit overdone shortly into the story. I can only care about what someone is wearing for so long.  The story is woven perfectly on two different timelines. We get to see a grown Tea (our MC) who has ultimately been exiled and has possibly turned her allegiances to the dark side. We also follow Tea from the moment she realized she had magic at the age of 12 when she accidentally resurrects her dead brother from the grave. I thought the way the story was told on these separate timelines was genius and really kept my reading pace motivated and thirsty for more. I have become sincerely attached to a great deal of the characters and some others fell flat for me. With that being said, I believe the sequel will give me everything I want in regards to some characters who weren’t as fleshed out as others. I’m not so patiently waiting for book two to be released, as this may be my new favorite YA series. (&& please dear god keep my baby Fox safe!)

For all fantasy lovers out there, this book is absolutely worth the read. I even started to feel sympathy and love for the monsters we were supposed to hate by the end of my reading experience. This novel was brilliantly put together and I JUST WANT MORE!

4.5 stars

Leave a Reply

