The Star-Touched Queen Review!

the star touched queen.jpg

Maya is a princess in her fathers kingdom with a knack for spying and an interest in her fathers politics but this isn’t why everyone hates her. Maya was born with a horoscope of death and destruction that follows her everywhere she goes, therefore people avoid her at all costs and treat her like street trash. All Maya has is her little sister and the stories Maya weaves for her at bedtime, and this seems to be a well enough life for Maya. This all changes the day that Maya’s father demands that she be married, no matter her cursed horoscope and her life is turned upside down. 

I think the most brilliant thing about this book is the writing style. Chokshi has an incredible literary voice and the way she brings her world to life is truly a gift. I loved the scenery, the dialog, the internal thoughts, the make believe Otherworld. Every single sentence was music to my ears. Sometimes authors have a whimsical approach to writing and it doesn’t go over well because it feels forced, this writing just felt flat out beautiful and I will continue to read anything Choksi writes. I thought the plot twists in this book were copious but not executed well. My one complaint about the writing style is that sometimes Choksi got so engrossed in the gorgeous writing that she didn’t explain things very well….at all. I finished this book still being utterly confused about some things and as this is a stand alone (with a companion novel following a different character) I felt like that was unacceptable.

As for the story line, if you’ve been following my blog you know I’m ALWAYS here for court politics and magic. Those are two of my very favorite things about books so of course The Star-Touched Queen was meant to be in my life. I don’t know if this was supposed to be a retelling of the Hades and Persephone mythology but it certainly felt like it. I loved every single character in this novel and I loved the fact that I was kept on my toes throughout the entire process. I had no clue who the true villain was until it was spelled out for me in the last few chapters. With this book, the villain could have been the main character herself (it wasn’t obviously). Now I know some of you might be put off by this but at first there seemed to be a severe case of insta-love that I wanted to SCREAM about but that became cleared up. I don’t want to go into too much detail because I feel like the less you know the better the book is but I had to give an honorable mention to Kamala the demon horse. I finished the last 100 pages or so at one in the morning and found myself shipping Kamala and BlackJack from the Percy Jackson series. That’s right, I was so completely exhausted that I shipped two fictional horses. That’s when I thought, you’ve really lost it this time amigo.

Overall I gave this book a 3.5/5 stars and I plan on picking up the companion novel as soon as I get my hands on it.

Leave a Reply

