Top 5 Wednesday!

This Wednesday theme is to recommend five books that represent your Hogwarts house. My Hogwarts house is a firm Slytherin. I’ve taken every sorting quiz imaginable, including the Pottermore quiz multiple times, and I’ve always been sorted into Slytherin. I take GREAT pride in my house so I am excited to give you all a few recommendations based on what I think a fellow Slytherin would enjoy. The key words I’m focusing on today are cunning, ambitious, determined, and leadership.

slytherin

  1. The first book I’d like to recommend is the true crime novel Helter Skelter, which focuses on the Manson murders and cult that occurred during the late 1960’s in the United States. This book is the only novel to ever truly scare me and I love how well the facts were put together without a largely bias opinion. I think a lot of people see Slytherin’s as truly evil (which isn’t true) but I wanted to give a recommendation of a story that I did in fact find wholeheartedly evil. Manson himself meets all the criteria for the key words I wanted to focus on, the most accurate word being cunning. I think anyone who has a shred of interest in the Manson cult or the murders should check this book out as it was written by the detective who worked the case for many years.
  2. The second book I’d like the recommend is The Bone Witch. I have a full review for this book here on my blog but I think this is an interesting take on witches. Tea is the main character and she is a necromancer in a world where people fear her power. We follow Tea as she goes on her journey to learn how to control her powers and become an Asha. Tea is absolutely determined in everything she does and I think the ending truly represents the path a Slytherin would take in her position.
  3. Book number three is Heartless and it is a retelling of the Queen of Hearts. I also have a review for this here on my blog if you are interested in seeing more of my thoughts on this. Heartless follows the main character Catherine who only wants one thing in life and that is to own and run her own bakery with her best friend but circumstances throw her life off course when she is made to become Queen, but falls in love with someone who isn’t the King. I think Catherine is very ambitious and there is a lot of adventure in this novel. Catherine’s story also leads her down a rough path and towards the end we all know how the Queen of Hearts turns out (a villain). While I don’t think Slytherins are all villains, I do think that they can identify with the road Catherine took and why she became the way she is.
  4. The next book I’d like to recommend is not a book at all but rather a series and I’m sure you are all familiar with it, or at least the TV show. I’m speaking of the Game of Thrones books. There are so many different perspectives touched on during the length of these books but I think all Slytherins will love the premise, which is a political fight for the throne. There are so many twists and turns in these books and I think the most interesting part is the way these people play the game to win the power, which is something all Slytherins can find fascinating.
  5. The final book on our Top 5 Wednesday journey is The Six of Crows duology. These two books follow a group of criminals who embark on a wild and thoroughly impossible heist. We get to see so many points of view, why all these people are considered criminals (most of these characters I would mentally sort into the house Slytherin) and why these characters came to be the way they are. The theme in this story is dark and the adventure is incredible. Anyone can appreciate this story but I think a Slytherin especially will fall in love with the characters and their pasts.

 

That’s all for today folks! See you next week with another Top 5 Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

