Strange the Dreamer Review!

strange the dreamer

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

 

I want to begin this review by saying this was an easy 5 stars from me and I don’t see how any book this year can possibly top Strange the Dreamer. This is absolutely my favorite book of 2017.

Do you know how it feels to crack open a Harry Potter book and you instantly feel like you’re going home? It doesn’t matter how long you’ve been away from Hogwarts but when you return it’s like you’ve never left. That’s exactly how reading Strange the Dreamer felt to me, like going home. That’s not to say it’s comparable to Harry Potter in any way except for the feelings it gave me. I had to put down this book multiple times, close my eyes, and just smile because it was so wonderful.

This is my first book from Laini Taylor that I’ve read (I will pick up the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series immediately). My library called me the other day and said “Hey Brittany, we’ve got a few books for you here on hold. Come down and grab them.”. When I got to my library I saw that Strange the Dreamer was one of the books they put aside for me and I was a little confused because I never requested it. I took it anyways and gave it a chance and I’m SO glad I did. I have to give a huge thank you to the awesome women at my local library who knew when they got this book that it was right up my alley.

I opened the book and read the first two pages and looked at my boyfriend and said “I can already tell this book is going to be absolutely beautiful”. I wasn’t wrong. From the first sentence I was hooked. Laini Taylor’s words aren’t writing, they are art. The way this book flows isn’t like a novel, it flows like a slow trickling stream on a spring day. Flowing over river rocks and tickling your toes. What I mean is, the story is slow but it’s beautiful and there’s no place I’d rather be. It’s not an insult for me to say the story was slow, I think it’s meant to be slow. You’re supposed to read it slow to savor every word, every sentence, every bite that you can. I felt this way about The Night Circus as well. I wanted to open the pages and crawl inside and never leave.

I don’t want to give away too much of the plot because I think the adventure of finding out is KEY to this journey. I included a small tidbit of the synopsis that Goodreads provides as some guidance. Just believe me when I say you want to open this book blind and let it completely envelope you. Lazlo Strange is (one) of our main characters in this novel and can I just say that he couldn’t be any better? He’s average and nerdy and has his head in the clouds. He’s a dreamer, a fairy tale enthusiast, and he is breathtaking. When Lazlo is introduced we find out he’s obsessed with the story of a lost city called Weep and I identified with that so much. As a child (and lets be real as an adult) I was enthralled with the idea of the lost city of Atlantis. I still will read or watch anything I can get my hands on that concerns Atlantis. The city of Weep seemed like Laini Taylor reached into my brain and scooped up everything I envisioned Atlantis to be and I love her for it. If there was every a Neverending Story and Atlantis mash-up, this is it folks.

I couldn’t love this book more and I am WAITING to get my hands on the next book. Laini Taylor could write 500 books about Lazlo Strange and the city of Weep and I’d savor every second of it. I’ve already returned my library copy of this novel but I will be buying myself of a copy and every fandom item I can get my hands on. Obsessed is an understatement. I haven’t been this excited about a story in many many years. If there’s anything you ever take from looking at my blog, let it be that you NEED to read this book.

 

5 Star Rating

Leave a Reply

