Three Dark Crowns Review!

three dark crowns

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

I thought this book was going to be my favorite book of 2017, and then I read Strange the Dreamer and this one got knocked down one slot. (Yes if you follow my blog then you know this review is coming a little late). Three Dark Crowns was FANTASTIC. I mean look at that synopsis, three magical sisters who have to compete against each other to the death until the last one standing wins the throne. I’m all in. It’s like a young adult Game of Thrones and I LIVE for GoT.

First we get to know Queen Katharine who is living with the poisoners. Katharine and her community can ingest poisons without any harmful effects and they are experts at administering poisons as well. The only issue is, Katharine isn’t very great at the ingesting poisons part. This makes her an easy target for her sisters to kill her once the competition begins. Katharine is easily my favorite Queen. She seemed a lot more human than the other girls, with valid feelings and maybe she just reminded me a little of myself.

Queen Arisnoe is a naturalist but her ability hasn’t presented itself yet. I loved Arisnoe as a character but the people surrounding her generally drove me insane. I think this made me not like her storyline as much. I wasn’t as invested as I think I could have been because of what was going on in her part of the world.

Queen Mirabella is an elemental and is absolutely the most powerful sister. I’m hoping in book two we get more of Mirabella because after finishing Three Dark Crowns I still didn’t feel like I knew her in my heart as the other two sisters. Her storyline was absolutely atrocious at times and I found myself hoping to finish her chapters quickly to get onto the other girls. I didn’t hate her as a person or character, it’s just her setting and plot was very boring.

I think the plot of this entire book was absolutely brilliant and I’m SO READY for the next book in the series. I don’t even know who I’m rooting for at this point because while two of the sisters settings and side characters I didn’t enjoy, I did enjoy them as people. Katharine is my favorite Queen but I can easily see that being swayed as the story goes on. I think this is a MUST read for anyone out there who enjoys fantasy or is not so patiently waiting for the next season of Game of Thrones. This will give you a quick fix.

5 Star Rating

Leave a Reply

