Throne of Glass Review!

throne of glass.jpg

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

This is technically my second time reading Throne of Glass but it’s been so long and I wanted to continue on with the series so I decided to read it another time. The first time I rated this a four star book, this time it’s a solid 3.5 stars for me. I think I gave it less of a rating because I’ve read two other Maas books and they’ve set the bar higher for me and her writing.

Throne of Glass starts out and reads as any typical young adult fantasy book. The overall feeling felt like something that wasn’t out of the ordinary but as it progresses it became more unique. This book is truly set in its own unique world and the magic system was different than most, I really appreciated that aspect. The world building was slow but thorough and I felt like she really constructed her own atmosphere at a perfect pace.

Our main character Celaena is an assassin, headstrong, stubborn, and blatantly violent. Those were the characteristics that were presented to us in the beginning of the book but throughout time we saw that Celaena enjoyed getting dolled up, she was narcissistic, she enjoyed elaborate balls, she had musical talent, and really loved engrossing herself in a good book. At first I thought these personality traits really contradicted themselves but once I thought about it I felt like Celaena’s hardened exterior was for a reason and therefore valid. You’re allowed to be a stubborn hardass but also enjoy being dressed up and flattered.

Our two love interests were both equally interesting. I don’t even think I could pick a favorite of the two if I had to because they both serve a special place in my heart. I thought the writing of their love triangle was exactly how a love triangle should be written. It was part of the story but it wasn’t revolved around them.

Celaena also develops a nice yet shaky friendship with a princess from a neighboring country. I loved seeing the similarities between the two girls but also how they contrasted and worked together.

I thought the overall plot was fantastic. There were side characters I’d love to see more from in future novels. The conflicts were many and the outcomes were full of strife and heartache. There were twists, there were turns, and there were moments of complete awe. I think Sarah J Maas was really onto something when she wrote this book and I can’t wait to get back into the world with book number two. I know it just gets better and better from here.

3.5 stars.png

Leave a Reply

