The Young Elites Review!

the young elites.jpg

Genre : YA, Fantasy

Goodreads Synopsis : 

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Review : 

I’ve read Marie Lu’s previous Legend series and didn’t hate it but I also didn’t love it. I decided to give this one a chance because I didn’t want to base one (okay) experience on an author. I enjoyed The Young Elites much more than her previous works but it still wasn’t something that blew my mind.

I absolutely adored the premise of this book, the blood fever, the malfetto’s, the very small amount of politics involved, and of course super powers. I also wanted to give this story a round of applause for having a villain as the main character as opposed to going on another heroes journey. This was something new for me as I don’t really read much from the bad guys perspective. The characters were pretty incredible, the setting was very atmospheric, and the plot was intriguing. What I didn’t like was the pacing. For the entire middle chunk of this book I was bored out of my skull but I’m pleased that I finished it (for the most part) because it picked up at the ending. Judging by the last chapter I think I’ll continue on with the next books in the series.

I liked this book, I didn’t love it. I don’t know why I felt this way. Nothing was adherently wrong with the writing or anything, I just didn’t connect with any of the characters personally. I do believe as the series goes on I will enjoy it more though, fingers crossed. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a Young Adult Fantasy lover. This is a good ride and a fun time.

 

3 stars

Leave a Reply

